Calories, carbs and proteins, Oh my!

Sometimes through out this journey, I wish I had all the answers and knew exactly what to do all the time. But I don’t. Throughout my life I had rode this dieting rollercoaster continuously. And it was a rollercoaster because it was a lot of ups and downs and eventually returned back to the start. I’d get off for awhile and then get back on. I have done a lot of damage to my body. My metabolism is all over the place. So for me it’s a constant battle to figure out what works and what doesn’t.
I am proud of my 50 pounds gone, but honestly thought I would be so much farther. But this is not a rollercoaster this time. Yes it has it’s ups and downs but I am not going back to the beginning or stopping and getting off. This is my life now.
So one of the things I have been playing with lately is upping my calories. I know, people gasp when I say that if they are not living in this world. But things have been off lately. I am working out more, harder work outs, strength training with and without weights. Also cardio. But I find myself with no energy. I feel run down. I was eating around 2100 calories a day (when I kept track). Every app and website I go to tells me I need roughly around 3,000 calories to burn fat. It tells me I need 2400 calories just to live to function. So while that all sounds like a lot, I also want to make sure I am fueling my body. God gave me this body to take care of, to live in and I finally want to give it my best.
I am not going to lie, anything over 2100 calories scares the crap out of me. Like panic attack, can’t breath, stop eating kind of attack. And one thing I know I wasn’t getting enough of is carbs. I just always felt like if I lowered my carbs, even good carbs, I would lose weight. But with all the workouts I am doing (and loving) , I have to have carbs. If I am overworking my body and not putting enough in to sustain it, fuel it, and for my muscles to feed off of, then guess what? It holds onto the fat. Like I said, this is still a scary concept to me but change can ultimately be good.
Oh and just for info. sake, I am slowly upping my calories, maybe a 100 a week or so and also slowly upping my carbs.
So I will keep you all informed on my progress. And as I make these changes, I will be staying away from the scale for awhile. I know at first I will gain some, just because my carbs and water weight, etc.
I am just working on being healthy, losing weight and making this body stronger. We only get one chance at this life here on Earth, and I want it to be a healthy one. I want to do my part.
So while I wish there was a perfect plan, I’m just over here trying to be me, trying to figure it all out, and just trying to figure out what works for me.

Kim

2 thoughts on “Calories, carbs and proteins, Oh my!

  1. Pingback: How To Climb Faster - Light Bike Or Light Body?

  2. You know, it’s quite funny that you’re doing this since right before you on Monday I decided to do this too, I was eating 1500-1600kcal average a day on my weight loss journey, my weight had stayed the same for 2 weeks basically, and with that kind of eating and a ton of exercise, the weight did not drop.

    Now I upped my calories to 2000-2200kcal and the weight is coming off, dropped almost a pound in a day, immediately. I’ll more than likely need to up the kcal more and more as time goes by, but right now it’s just “yaaay the scale is moving” 🙂

    Here’s something for you to think about too, water retention. Cortisol dictates a ton when it comes to water retention, and it is at elevated levels when you punish your body with high calorie deficits.

    You’ll see great results from doing this, just keep it up! Good luck and you can do this! After all, the easiest way to find out what works for you.. is just to do it 🙂

    p.s congrats on the 50lbs loss, that’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

