To Do or What Not to Do, That is the Question.

With this journey, People come out of the woodwork wanting to know my secret, how am I doing it, what am I doing, what am I eating, etc. There are those that want you to basically write down an exact plan for them to follow so they will know exactly what to do and will lose weight too. But a lot of times, they don’t want to put the effort in. I can tell you what I do, but unless you are willing to put the work and effort in, then it’s not going to work.
And I’m probably not the person to ask about a plan. I stink at plans and structure when it comes to weightloss. For instance, right after I bought my kettlebell, I wrote out a workout schedule of what I was going to do every day. I stuck to that exact schedule exactly a week. Haha. I still workout, just don’t stick to a certain schedule besides Turbokick.
But there are some people that benefit from things like that: workout schedules, eating plans, meal prep, etc. I’m just not that person. So my best advice is find out what works best for you. If you need a strict schedule and meal plan, then take the time to sit down and write it down. But make it reasonable. Do not set your schedules and goals up to make you fail. Make sure it’s obtainable, something you can do, and it’s not unrealistic.
The next question I get is do I count calories? Yes and no. I recommend anyone just starting out to count calories and write down everything you eat. People like me who tend to deny their weight or what they eat, it’s a wake up call to count calories and write everything down. It makes you more aware of what you are putting in your body. A couple of years ago, I did a week of counting calories and I wrote down every bite I took. You know, those bites as you’re cooking and you taste something, or those bites off your kids plates while cleaning up the table, etc. I wrote it all down, and I realized that while my meals and planned snacks were pretty good, I did a lot of grazing and eating bites here and there I never thought about. They add up.
Right now, I don’t specifically count calories every day. But I am conscious of them. I tend to be a creature of habit, so I eat the same breakfast at least 4 days a week. So I mentally know how many calories it is. Same with lunch. And I drink protein shakes to up my calories and I know how many calories is in each shake. So while I may not log all my food and calories, I am still aware. Or if there are days I am really busy, and at some point feel really hungry, I will quick add my calories. Most of the time I find out I haven’t had near enough.
And there are really good, easy apps that help with calories and things. Two that I know work well are myfitnesspal and loseit. Another website that my Turbokick instructor and several of our ladies use is http://www.iifym.com. It has a lot of good info, and there’s a calculator where you can count macros. I know a lot of people use this and have seen benefits, it tells you how much protein, carbs, fats, etc you need every day.
It’s hard for me because I discovered I wasn’t eating enough calories several weeks ago. And to tell your head, you have to eat more to lose weight is a hard thing. I fight it every day. And it’s a process. Some days I still don’t get enough, and some days I may get too much. It’s a learning process.
One thing I can say is educate yourself. I have done a lot of research on eating and exercising. I do workouts I love, like Turbokick. I eat foods I like, but that are still good for me. It’s sort if like a game to me to see a recipe I like, and then see how to make it healthy. I’m always reading, researching, and finding new ideas. You have to make it work for you. You have to be proactive and learn to do what your body needs. No one can do it for you.
Another thing is, there will be a day or meal or weekend along the way, that you will get off track. Your plan will go out the window. Whether it’s Christmas, a birthday, or vacation. What you have to realize is, it’s one day or just a couple of days in your life. One meal will not make you fat. It’s one day or one weekend. But you decide how you get back on track. There are 365 days in a year. If you get off track a couple of times, what’s two or three days, compared to the other 362 days? This is where you have to move forward and not let one day or choice dictate your future.
If you want it, you can do it. You have to decide to do it and put the work in. On my weakest days, I pray that God will lead me and guide me. On my strongest days, I thank God for leading me and I pray He will continue. I know this has been a lot of rambling. I guess my point is I can’t tell you exactly what to do. I am still finding my way. But you have to research and find what works for you and then stick with it.

Leave a Reply

