It’s a journey, a process, but not a race.

If you follow me on Facebook or Instagram, you’ve already seen post after post about my weight loss journey. At this point I have lost 24 pounds. It’s hard for me not to add the word “only” in there. But I am proud of every pound. But yes I am hard on myself at times, and don’t give myself enough credit.
People ask me what my “secret” is to losing weight, to staying motivated, to having willpower. I hate to disappoint, but there is no secret. There are lots of prayers, lots of talking to God, lots of hard work, lots of planning, and figuring out what works for me.
I am not on a diet. This is not something I can or will get off of. You’ve all heard it before, but it’s definitely a lifestyle change. It’s not about eating very little food I don’t like and doing exercises I hate. I eat “real” food and lots of it and I have found workouts I like to do.
For me, it’s about being healthy. Yes the scale is a big part of it, but also how I feel, the way my clothes fit, my energy level, is all driving forces. If I told you my starting weight, some of you wouldn’t be able to close your mouth. You might would even fall off your seat. And 24 pounds down, compared to that number is not a lot. I will be the first to say it. But with those 24 pounds less, comes more energy, finding foods I enjoy to eat that are good for my body, and clothes that fit better and that I feel better in.
I think people carry around extra weight for a lot of different reasons. And for me, it’s about figuring that stuff out and changing me from the inside out. If I don’t work on the inside, my way of thinking and my relationship to food, then it will be a losing battle. Because I would have never fixed the real problem. I’m planning on doing several blogs about all of this, such as food addiction, what I eat, how I push through body pain, what keeps me going, etc. Let me know if there’s anything you would like for me to include, talk about, or blog about. I am open to putting myself out there to help others, to motivate others, and to keep others accountable. I just started on this journey and I am excited to see what’s next, what the future holds. And I’m not gonna lie, I know there will be ups and downs, emotionally, physically, and weight wise. But I am not giving up. I am not stopping.
You may ask how this time is different than all the other times I have started and stopped. Because this time I want it, I want it for me. I am excited about it, and I am making changes I can continue with day after day. I am loving me now so I can also love me later. I may not have taken care of this body in the past, but God still loves me and I’m still here so I changing this body, this head and the inside. Follow me on this journey.

Leave a Reply

